About Lung Cancer

Types of Lung Cancer

There are two major types of lung cancer, Non-small cell and small cell lung cancer.
  • Non-small cell carcinoma (NSCLC) accounts to 85-90% of lung cancers. There are three subtypes of NSCLC depending on how the cells look under the microscope. The three subtypes are:
    • squamous cell carcinoma
    • adenocarcinoma
    • large cell carcinoma.
  • Small cell carcinoma accounts for 10-15% of all lung cancers. This type of cancer is almost always caused by smoking. It is very rare for someone who has never smoked to develop it.
Pomona Valley Hospital Medical Center - 1798 N. Garey Avenue - Pomona, CA 91767 - (909) 865-9500 - Contact Us
For AssociatesPVHMC SITE MAP — Copyright © 2013, Pomona Valley Hospital Medical Center. All Rights Reserved. — Notice of Privacy Practices